John Francis R. Chan, a DEE Alumnus, was given a special citation award in the recently concluded 2021 Magsaysay Future Engineers/Technologists Award for his study entitled “Development of a Microcontroller-based Oil Spill Monitoring Buoy.” Three other finalists were given Special Citation Awards in the said competition. Engr. Anne Gille P. Balmadrid, an IABE Alumna, shared the top prize with DLSU’s Darius Joseph R. Diamante.

The Virtual Paper Presentation and Awarding Ceremony was held via Zoom and Facebook Live last 03 December 2021. Present in the event were National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) President Acd. Rhodora V. Azanza, and several NAST Academicians who served as members of the Board of Judges. Department of Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato T. De La Peña also gave his message through a pre-recorded video.

The Magsaysay Future Engineers/Technologists Award is given annually to collegiate Filipino students in recognition of their outstanding research outputs on engineering and technology. (Melvin C. Ilang-Ilang)